In the wake of the recent tragic mass shootings in Dayton, Ohio and El Paso, Texas, the issue of gun laws and gun safety has once again become the most discussed topic in the media. Add to that the many legislation changes being discussed, and people end up very confused about what exactly the law is, and how it affects them. So with that in mind, we thought we’d take a few minutes to answer some of your questions about Michigan’s most important gun facts.
1. “Can I buy a gun in Michigan?”
That depends. Michigan has rules in place about who can buy a firearm, and to make it even more complicated, federal laws differ a little from state laws. But here are Michigan’s laws about who can buy guns in the Great Lakes state:
- You must be at least 18 years old to buy a gun in Michigan, but to buy a gun from a federally licensed dealer you must be 21 years old
- If you’ve ever been convicted of a felony you won’t be allowed to buy or own a gun
- If you’ve ever been convicted of domestic violence in any capacity you won’t be allowed to buy or own a gun
- If you’re not a legal resident you may not buy or own a gun
- If you’ve been deemed legally incapacitated under state law, or are under a court order of involuntary mental health treatment, you may not buy or own a gun
- If you are subject to a domestic personal protection order under state law you can’t buy or own a gun in Michigan
- If you are on probation or parole, you may not be allowed to buy or own a gun, depending on the terms outlined by the court
2. “Do I have to register or license my gun in Michigan?”
Michigan doesn’t have a firearm registration system. However, state law requires that gun sellers keep a record of all their sales, and every handgun sold has to be reported to the police. Also, when buying a gun in Michigan, you have to have a purchase license (unless you already have a ‘concealed carry’ permit.) If you don’t have a CPL, you’ll have to apply for a purchase license at your local police agency.
If you’re buying from a federally licensed dealer, you don’t have to apply for a purchase permit because federally licensed dealers run background checks. Also, federal law requires that they provide a record of sale that gets filed with your local police department whenever they sell a weapon. However, buying a long gun (like a rifle or shotgun) doesn’t need a purchase license.
Gun ownership can be confusing for Michigan residents
The rules about who can buy a gun, how they have to go about it, and what rules they have to follow seems to change often. Legislators are under a lot of pressure from their constituents on both sides of the fence to address gun rights and gun safety issues. So it can be very hard to keep up with the law, and make sure that you’re not in violation of some recently passed legislation. And that’s where we come in.
At The Kronzek Firm, we make it our policy to be up to date on all changes to the law, and be constantly prepared to offer our clients a strong and creative defense, no matter what the legal climate may be. So if you’re in trouble with the law over the issue of guns, or believe that your rights have been violated, call 866 766 5245. Our aggressive and experienced criminal defense attorneys are standing by to help you defend your future and protect your rights. And don’t forget to join us next time for a look at more facts about Michigan’s gun laws you need to know!