It’s common knowledge at this point – getting arrested could mean losing your job. Maybe it’s because you’re stuck sitting behind bars so you missed enough shifts to get yourself fired. Maybe it’s because you weren’t able to call in while you were stuck in jail, and your job has a policy about firing anyone who pulls a ‘no call no show.’ Or maybe it’s because they think it makes them look bad to have an employee on the payroll who was arrested, so they cut the strings and move on.
Getting another job is easy… unless it requires a professional license!
But that’s okay. You can go and get another job as soon as you get out. Sure, it means starting again, and maybe you don’t enjoy it as much or the pay isn’t as great. But there are loads of jobs out there. You can find something, right?… Maybe. If you were a waitress, or a car mechanic, or a construction worker. However, what happens if your job requires a professional license, and being arrested or charged means you lose your license? Then what?
Being a licensed professional in Michigan means your future is at risk!
There are many professions where being convicted of a crime here in Michigan, or in some extremely severe cases simply being charged with a crime, can mean losing your future livelihood. Many professions that require licenses to practice, including doctors, nurses, police officers, firefighters, lawyers, daycare providers, school teachers, CPAs and builders all have jobs that are made possible through licenses. Lose your license and you lose more than just your current job – you lose your ability to practice that job in the future as well!
Many licensed professionals are required to report arrests, charges and convictions.
Depending on the specific profession or industry, many licensed professionals here in Michigan have a duty to report criminal charges or convictions to their professional licensing board. In many cases there are time limits on this self-reporting. For some, they only have to report an actual conviction, while for others – even an arrest can jeopardize their careers (which is crazy when you consider how many people are wrongfully arrested in Michigan!)
Doctors, nurses, lawyers and teachers all have to report charges or convictions within days.
The School Safety Act requires school school employees and prospective employees to report both to the employing school district, and to the Michigan Department of Education within 3 business days of being arraigned for any felony charge (and even certain misdemeanor charges) and again when they’re convicted. Doctors, nurses and other health professionals are all required to report a conviction to the Health Regulation Division of the Michigan Bureau of Health Professions within 30 days. If the conviction is a felony, or involves a controlled substance offense of any kind, their professional license is automatically suspended.
Don’t try to hide it! Get help and fight the charges!
We get it – being accused of a crime is embarrassing, and reporting it can mean losing your job. So many people choose not to say anything at all. But that’s actually a terrible idea! Not reporting an arrest when your license requires that you do, is likely to make the situation worse, not better! If you or a loved one have been arrested or accused of a crime, it is critical that you contact highly respected criminal defense attorneys at The Kronzek Firm immediately at 866 766 5245. Don’t wait and hope that the issue will resolve itself. The time to act is now, if you want to protect your career and your future! We can be reached 24/7 at 1 866 7NoJail.