Welcome back and thanks for joining us here at The Kronzek Firm for this second part of our discussion on motor vehicle crimes. Because the title is a little vague, and numerous different crimes fall under the umbrella of ‘motor vehicle crimes‘ in Michigan, we thought we’d take a minute to clear this up for you.
As we noted in the previous article, there are two different kinds of traffic violations. And there are several different types of crimes that come under this category. In part one we discussed drunk driving which is one of the most common motor vehicle crimes in Michigan. Moving one, we’re going to look at some other common motor vehicle crimes you’ll encounter in the Great Lakes State:
What are Michigan’s motor vehicle crimes?
Reckless driving refers to drives a vehicle in a way that shows a willful and wanton disregard for the safety of other people or property. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to 93 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both. However, if your reckless driving causes someone serious injury or even death, you are looking at very serious felony charges and possible prison time!
Reckless driving can actually include a lot of different scenarios. Speeding, weaving in between other cars on the road, racing against other vehicles, road rage and illegal passing could all net you a reckless driving charge. And it doesn’t have to happen on the road to count. Under Michigan law, reckless driving can take place on a highway, in a parking lot, and even on a frozen public lake.
Leaving the scene of an accident:
After a traffic accident, or a vehicle collision with any object, driving away instead of waiting for law enforcement to arrive is against the law. However, leaving the scene of an accident can be charged in three different way, depending on the crime.
For example, if the accident caused property damage, it’s a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail, a fine of up to $100, or both. If the accident caused personal injury it considered to be more serious. And while still only a misdemeanor, the jail time for leaving the scene of a personal injury accident is up to one year in jail. If the accident caused someone’s death, the crime becomes a felony and the prison sentence can be up to five years.
Driving with a suspended or revoked license:
There are many reasons why a person may have their license taken away, ranging from drunk driving convictions and unpaid speeding tickets, to unpaid child support and even drug related convictions. If you get your license suspended or revoked by the Secretary of State, this means you’ve been stripped of the privilege to drive. If you’re caught driving away your license is taken away by the state,you can get into a lot of trouble!
The first time you get caught driving on a suspended license, you’ll likely face up to 93 days in jail and a $500 fine, because it’s a misdemeanor. But the more it happens, the more serious the consequences get. Every time after that the fines increase to $1,000 and the jail time increases to a year. Kill someone while driving on a suspended license and you’re looking at up to five years behind bars! This is all compounded because getting caught driving on a suspended license will increase the length of that suspension.
Make sure you have a good defense attorney on your team!
One of the best ways to ensure that you come out of this process with the best possible results, is to get a top defense attorney on your side! At The Kronzek Firm, our highly skilled attorneys have over 100 years of combined experience representing criminal defendants all over Michigan. We have a successful track record of navigating the twists and turns of the criminal justice system, and getting favorable results for our clients. Call us at 866 766 5245 (866 7No Jail) today. We are available 24/7 to help!