Cocaine in Michigan: What You Need to Know (Part 3)


Cocaine may seem glamorous, but the addiction can kill you!


Thanks for joining us as we wrap up this conversation on cocaine and the laws that govern its use in Michigan. If you’re only just joining us now, we highly recommend that you spend a few minutes catching up. If however, you’ve been with from the start, welcome back and buckle up – we’re going to hit the ground running…


When did cocaine become illegal?

When cocaine use first became popular as an ingredient in drinks, it was served as soda fountains all over the country, usually in the form of Coca-Cola. Within a short time, however, concerns grew about unchecked cocaine use. The Coca-Cola company finally buckled under pressure from the public, and changed their recipe to include more sugar and caffeine, and no cocaine. Cocaine was finally outlawed, and has been ever since.


What happens if the police think I was trying to sell cocaine?

Selling cocaine, which is referred to in the law as “Delivery of Cocaine” is one of the most serious cocaine charges in Michigan. It’s right up there with Manufacturing Cocaine (which means making or producing it) and Possession with Intent to Deliver (which means that you have it and you plan to sell it.)


All three of those charges are felonies. When you add in certain other factors, like a prior criminal record, cocaine crimes involving minors, or even cocaine crimes that take place in certain locations, the sentence can get even harsher!


  • If the amount of cocaine involved was less than 50 grams, you could go to prison for up to 20 years or pay a fine of up to $25,000, or both.
  • If the amount involved was 50 grams up to 449 grams of cocaine, you could go to prison for up to 20 years, pay fines of up to $250,000, or both.
  • If the amount involved was 450 grams to 999 grams, you could go to prison for up to 30 years, or pay a fine of up to $500,000, or possibly both.
  • If the amount was 1,000 or more, you could be facing prison for your entire life, paying a fine of up to $1,000,000, or both.


Are federal cocaine charges more or less severe than state charges?

There’s no doubt about it, federal cocaine charges are considerably more severe than state charges! So it is always in your best interest to have a highly skilled lawyer who can handle both state and criminal cases, so that they can fight for the best possible outcome, no matter which court your case ends up in.


We hope this series on cocaine – it’s history and current charges in Michigan, has been helpful. However, please remember that if you or a loved one are facing cocaine charges in Michigan, internet articles won’t help you! You need a highly skilled and experienced drug defense attorney who can ensure that your rights are fully protected and your case gets the best possible outcome. Call The Kronzek Firm today to discuss your case with one of our trial attorneys at 866 766 5145.


Back to
Top ▲
Aggressive Criminal Defense