Welcome back. We’ve been talking about why it’s a terrible idea to run away from the cops (seriously, we can’t stress this enough – it’s a terrible idea!). In the previous article we talked about what police in Michigan do when you don’t follow an order to pull over, and why they do it. Next up we’re going to look at what the consequences may be for you, and how to avoid all that ‘noise’ right from the get go.
Criminal charges for running from the cops are no joke!
If a Michigan cop tries to pull you over and you refuse to comply with that order, you are officially fleeing and eluding an officer. And believe it or not, ‘fleeing and eluding’ is actually illegal in Michigan. It’s a charge that can be brought by a prosecutor as First, Second, Third or Fourth Degree Fleeing and Eluding, with First Degree being the most serious, and Fourth Degree the least serious (but still a big deal!). Not convinced? Check it out…
- First Degree Fleeing and Eluding:
Felony with a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison, a fine up to $15,000.00, or both.
- Second Degree Fleeing and Eluding:
Felony with a maximum penalty up to 10 years in prison, a fine up to $10,000.00, or both.
- Third Degree Fleeing and Eluding:
Felony with a maximum penalty up to 5 years in prison, a fine up to $5,000.00, or both.
- Fourth Degree Fleeing and Eluding:
Felony with a maximum punishment up to 2 years in prison, a fine up to $2,000.00, or both.
So how do you avoid getting into trouble with the cops in Michigan?
Obviously, the first and most important piece of advice we can give you here would be this: don’t break the law! But beyond that, if you make a mistake, or there’s a misunderstanding that leads to you having to interact with the police for some reason, here are some tips on how to not make a bad thing worse!
- Obey orders. If a cop tells you to stop, then stop. If they tell you to put your hands in the air, then put your hands in the air. If they tell you to step back, or put your hands behind your back, or whatever, as long as it’s lawful order, you need to follow it. Don’t try to figure out whether the order is a lawful order. Just follow the instruction. Even when you think there’s not reason for the order, follow the order.
- Be polite. This isn’t Hollywood. Being snarky or sassy to the cops isn’t funny, and it can make things harder for you down the road. So don’t be rude, don’t yell that them or threaten them, and don’t call them names. Moderate your voice, and be respectful.They don’t care what you think and they are not interested in hearing your defense. Save that for the courtroom.
- Shut up. Being polite doesn’t mean being a pushover. Just because a cop asks you a question, you aren’t required to answer. But you can respectfully decline to answer (which you absolutely should do!) So when the time comes, and the cops ask you questions, politely tell them you’re not going to say anything until you’ve talked to your attorney. Lawyer up and then keep your mouth shut.
Having the right attorney can make all the difference!
Whether you live in Lansing, Roscommon, Troy, Royal Oak, Kalamazoo, or Brighton, you need a top rated defense attorney if you’re in trouble with the cops. Fighting criminal charges stemming from the way you interacted with cops requires a very specific approach from a defense attorney. And that’s exactly where The Kronzek Firm excels. Our skilled defense attorneys have spent decades helping the people of Michigan with their legal troubles, and we can help you too. Call 866 766 5245 (866 7No Jail) and call for your free consultation. We’re available to help 24/7.