When people think about losing their jobs as a result of arrest, they often assume it’s because being in jail means they can’t work. After all, that’s how it happens in most cases. If you suddenly stop coming to work (because you’re stuck at the local county jail and can’t make bail) your boss is unlikely to hold your position for you. Work needs to be done and you’re gone, maybe for months – you can hardly blame them. But that isn’t the only way criminal charges can cost you your job in Michigan.
Many people with professional licenses are required to report arrests.
There are many jobs that require a license in Michigan. Doctors, lawyers, teachers, and even real estate professionals are all required to report a criminal charge or conviction to their professional licensing board. In many cases, that report has to be made within a certain period of time. So what does that mean for those people?
For many, being charged with a crime, or in some cases being convicted of a crime, can cost you more than your job – it can cost you the chance to ever work in that field again! Why? Because many licensing boards will strip you of your professional license if you are charged with, or convicted of, a crime. Even if that crime has no effect on your job!
Whose jobs are at risk after charges and convictions?
Although the professional license reporting requirements are slightly different from one job to another, many people are required to report either arrest, charges or convictions (or all three) to their licensing boards. Although this isn’t a complete list, here is a look at some of the workers in Michigan whose jobs are at risk if they get arrested:
- Doctors, nurses and lawyers
- Teachers and school staff
- Police officers and firefighters
- Daycare providers
- State social workers and CPS workers
- Real estate agents
- Counselors, psychologists and psychiatrists
- Certified public accountants
- Builders and other licensed contract workers
Teachers and health workers have to report arrests and convictions!
Being a teacher in Michigan means you have to comply with the law. And Michigan’s School Safety Act requires school employees and even prospective employees, including teachers, contract workers, and many others, to report both to the employing school district and Michigan Department of Education within 3 business days of:
1) being arraigned for any felony charge and certain misdemeanor charges, and
2) upon conviction.
Nurses, doctors, and many other health professionals, are required to report convictions within 30 days to the Health Regulation Division of the Michigan Bureau of Health Professions. If the conviction happens to be drug related in any way, or is a felony of any kind, professional license suspensions are automatic!
Don’t hide the facts, get help to fight the charges!
Many people with professional licenses, want to hide their arrests or criminal charges, assuming that they can keep their jobs for longer that way. Unfortunately that only makes things worse! Not reporting of violations of the law can lead to more criminal charges for some people. So if you or a loved one have been arrested or charged with a crime, and you’re worried about losing your professional license, don’t hide the facts, fight the charges!
At The Kronzek Firm, our highly skilled criminal defense attorneys will help you figure out whether you need to report your charge or conviction or not, along with the ‘when’ and ‘how’ involved in the process. We’ve had decades of experience helping other professionals in Michigan protect their licenses, and we can help you too. Call 866 766 5245 (866 7No Jail) to discuss your case with an attorney today!