Staff Photo of The Kronzek Firm

Concealed Pistol License Law in Michigan

Michigan CPL Attorneys

The seasoned trial lawyers at The Kronzek Firm PLC, have nearly 100 years of Semi-automatic gun isolated on white backgroundcombined experience defending gun crimes and representing clients with their firearms law needs.  We accept NRA referrals and have attorneys on staff who are NRA members.  We can be reached for a free consultation at (866) 766-5245.

Basic CPL Laws in Michigan

A CPL allows an individual to legally carry a loaded handgun on his or her person or in a vehicle for protection. Individuals who are licensed to carry a concealed pistol, taser, or other portable weapon that uses electro-muscular disruption technology, must possess the license at all times when carrying the weapon.

In addition, if requested by a peace officer, including motor carrier officers and security personnel, individuals must display to the officer the license and a Michigan driver’s license or personal identification card.

A person in violation faces a state civil infraction with a fine of $100.00.

Furthermore, an individual is required to immediately disclose to the officer that he or she is carrying the concealed weapon either on the body or in a vehicle. A person in violation may be fined.

If it is a first offense, the penalty is a fine of $500.00 and a suspension of the concealed pistol license for 6 months. For a subsequent violation within 3 years of the previous offense, the penalty is a fine of $1,000.00 and revocation of the concealed pistol license.

Individuals determined responsible for such a state civil infraction will face court notification to the state police and the county clerk who issued the license, who will suspend or revoke the license. You will notified of the suspension or revocation at your last known address. The Department of State police will immediately enter the suspension or revocation into the law enforcement network.

Additionally, pistols carried in violation may be immediately seized by a peace officer. If this occurs, the person has 45 days to show his or her license or documentation to the applicable law enforcement agency. If the person does so within that period, the pistol will be returned unless otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm. If the person does not comply within the period, the pistol is subject to forfeiture.

However, a pistol is not subject to immediate seizure if a person has his or her driver’s license or personal identification card in possession and the officer verifies the person’s licensure through the Michigan law enforcement information network (LEIN).

Without a license, a person cannot carry a concealed pistol concealed. A person in violation may be charged with a felony with a maximum penalty of 5 years in prison or by a fine up to $2,500.00.

Free Consultation Available

 If your gun has been seized, CCW license suspended, or if you have been charged with any weapon-related offense, please contact The Kronzek Firm PLC, for a free case evaluation at (866) 7-NoJail! Attorneys are available by appointment and will review your case with you and outline your options.

Back to
Top ▲
Aggressive Criminal Defense