Michigan Statute of Limitations Defense Attorneys
A statute of limitations is the time period during which a person who is accused of committing a crime can be charged by the prosecution for having committed that crime.
In general, the Michigan Statute of Limitations is 6 years. There are a few exceptions:
NO STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
Murder, Solicitation to Commit Murder, Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First degree, or a violation of Michigan’s Anti-Terrorism Act all have no statute of limitations. This means that charges can be brought at any time (even many, many years later) for violating one of these laws.
10 years or until the victim is 21 years old
Sex cases are more complex if DNA evidence is found
For certain crimes in Michigan law, charges may be brought within 10 years from the commission of the offense OR by the victim’s 21st birthday, whichever comes later. Examples of crimes with a longer time limit are Child Pornography, Criminal Sexual Conduct in the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th degrees, and Assault with the intent to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct. Sex cases are even more complex because if DNA evidence is found at the scene of the crime, and the person leaving the DNA is unknown or unidentifiable, then the state can file charges at any time after the offense is committed. However, once the suspect is identified, the state must bring charges within 10 years or by the time the victim turns 21, whichever is later.
We have decades of experience with the time limits and the Statute of Limitations in Michigan. We are on the forefront of changes in the law and the impact of these changes on your case. Contact our trusted defense attorneys to schedule your free initial consultation meeting today!
Contact us about your legal matter today! Call us at 1-866-766-5245.