Michigan Fleeing and Eluding Attorneys
Defending Fleeing and Eluding Charges
Are you facing charges of Fleeing and Eluding in Michigan? You don’t have to go through this alone. And, you don’t have to go through this with an attorney who isn’t doing anything for you. The attorneys at Kronzek & Cronkright, PLLC have many years of experience defending Fleeing and Eluding charges. That experience includes many instances of avoiding jail, prison and convictions for our clients. You can talk to one of our expert Michigan criminal defense attorneys by calling (866) 766-5245.
What is Fleeing and Eluding?
Fleeing and eluding is where a driver of a motor vehicle willfully fails to stop for a police or conservation officer. The officer could be signaling an individual to stop by emergency light, voice, siren, by hand, or some other audible signal.
Fourth Degree Fleeing and Eluding
The violation can occur when the driver flees by increasing the speed of the vehicle or by turning off headlights in an attempt to hide. When this occurs, it is fourth degree fleeing and eluding which is a felony with a maximum punishment up to 2 years in prison, a fine up to $2,000.00, or both.
Third Degree Fleeing and Eluding
Third degree fleeing and eluding is when one or more of the following occurs: (1) when in the course of fleeing a collision or accident occurs, OR (2) if a portion of the fleeing happened in an area where the speed limit is 35 mph or less. (3) The person has a prior conviction for attempted or a completed act of fleeing and eluding fourth degree. This is a felony with a penalty up to 5 years in prison, a fine up to $5,000.00, or both.
Second Degree Fleeing and Eluding
Second degree fleeing and eluding is where one or more of the following happens: (1) The violation causes a serious bodily injury of an individual, OR (2) The fleeing person has one or more prior convictions of first, second, or third degree fleeing and eluding, OR (3) The fleeing individual had two or more prior convictions for fourth degree fleeing and eluding. This is a felony with a maximum penalty up to 10 years in prison, a fine up to $10,000.00, or both.
First Degree Fleeing and Eluding
First degree fleeing and eluding is where in the course of fleeing and eluding a death of a person results. This is a felony with a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison, a fine up to $15,000.00, or both.
Driver’s License Consequences for a Fleeing and Eluding Conviction
Because Fleeing and Eluding is a driving related crime, all convictions come with a consequence to driving privileges. Those convicted of third degree and fourth degree fleeing and eluding will have their operator license suspended by the Secretary of State. Those convicted of first degree and second degree fleeing and eluding will have their operator license revoked by the Secretary of State.
As of November 2012, this is amended to include individuals fleeing and eluding on vessels such as speedboats. The penalties are virtually the same. However, instead of third degree fleeing and eluding having a 35 mph speed limit, it refers to areas designated at “slow—no wake,” “no wake,” or “restricted.” For convictions of third or fourth degree fleeing and eluding, a person’s privilege to operate a vessel will be suspended up to 5 years. For convictions of first degree or second degree fleeing and eluding, a person’s privilege to operate a vessel will be revoked for a minimum of 5 years. Fleeing from police or noncompliance with probation or parole terms by hiding one’s whereabouts is sometimes referred to as “absconding.” Additionally, an individual absconding on or forfeiting a bond in criminal proceedings has committed a felony. Those absconding on or forfeiting a recognizance or cash deposit related to paternity proceedings has also committed a felony.
Call Us Today for Aggressive Legal Defense
Because of the stiff penalties involved, aggressive legal representation is crucial in fleeing and eluding cases. Our lawyers have decades of experience and can help you with your case. Call Kronzek & Cronkright for a free consultation at (866) 7-NoJail!.