Welcome back to this final article in our three-part series on proposed changes to Michigan gun laws. Because guns and gun ownership are such a hotly debated topic, the laws that govern their use are also fiercely debated. As a result, we believe that it’s very important that our readers to have as much information as possible about Michigan law, as it pertains to their Second Amendment rights, and what changes they can expect in the future.
In the first article we discussed banning gun in police stations, doing away with concealed carry permits, and criminalizing guns left where minors can access them. In the second installment we discussed doing away with local gun ordinances, and expanding the number of places gun owners may carry their weapons – both for people with PPOs and others. Moving on, we’re going to wrap this up with the last few expected changes.
Lowering the concealed carry age limit:
Under current Michigan law, the age at which a person may legally apply for and receive a concealed carry permit is 21. However, under new legislation, that age restriction would change. Senate Bill 366 would make it legal for 18 to 20-year-old Michigan residents to obtain a provisional concealed carry permit.
This bill has been called “responsible” by the senators supporting it, but has received a great deal of push back from groups like Physicians Preventing Gun Violence and Moms Demand Action. Although current law allows 18 to 20-year olds in Michigan to ‘open carry’ a firearm, this bill would allow them to continue carrying their guns, but not have to worry about whether or not others can clearly see the weapon.
Changes to handgun licensing laws:
If Senate Bill 219 gets passed, the current licensing procedure would be changed slightly. Under the new possible law there would be a few differences. They are:
- county clerks could make certain forms available to the public electronically,
- the application fee for a license would be nonrefundable,
- peace officers with CPLs would be included in the list of people who are exempt from certain no-carry zones
- emergency licenses would no longer be valid if the holder had not completed firearms training and applied for their CPL within 10 days
- making it a misdemeanor for gun sellers who fail to keep records, or making gun purchasers open to police inspection
- Making it against the law for a person to buy a motor vehicle designed for defense or attacks, without first obtaining a license.
Doing away with gun registration requirements:
We shared this information with you last month, and talked about the pros and cons of getting rid of Michigan’s pistol registration system. Currently, Michigan is only one of six states in the US to require citizens to register their handguns, which is an issue that House Bill 4554 would eliminate, if it gets signed into law.
We hope this breakdown was helpful and informative for you. WE keep a close eye on legislation here in Michigan and work hard to keep our readers updated on any changes to laws that we feel may be helpful for them. As such, we will be watching these bills and will let you know whether or not Michigan’s gun laws actually change in the future.
Until then, if you or one of your loved one has been accused of weapons-related crimes in Michigan, contact The Kronzek Firm at 866 766 5245 immediately. Our experienced trial attorneys have spent decades defending people accused of murder, assault with a weapon, armed robbery, and many other gun crimes. We can help you too.